Author Topic: Please Help. Newbie Doing First Oil Change!  (Read 7621 times)

Offline zagracing

Please Help. Newbie Doing First Oil Change!
« on: March 14, 2015, 06:54:06 PM »
Hi Lads,

My first post here.
I picked up a 1998 Damon Ultrasport with a Cat 275 diesel engine.
Has 50K on the clock and I am doing my first round of service to it.

I am a shady tree mechanic having worked on many cars and motorcycles but this is my first diesel engine.
Forgive me if I sound like a newb, I am really not, I just want to make certain I learn and do the maintenance correctly.

Today I drained the 5 gallons of oil from the rig and replaced the oil filter.
I took a look at the small Cat manual that came with the rig and it states that the fuel should be shut off after oil is added and the engine cranked.
I suppose, like many cars I have worked on, they want to see oil pressure on the gauge before you light it up completely. It also states to not fill
the new filter which is an odd one for me having always done that. I get it though and no big deal there.

What I need to know is how does the fuel get shut off on these engines?
I have found a water separator, a second fuel filter under what looks to be a air purge valve and then another canister towards the rear of the engine
which I am not certain what it is. See the pics below.
Maybe someone can just explain the valve in the picture?
It says to tighten after use and there is a little fuel pump picture on it but that's all I know about it. Certainly someone here knows the score?

Great to meet you all and thanks in advance for the help.

Bernie

(http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n167/b2nomad/photo%201_zpsx4phdssp.jpg)

(http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n167/b2nomad/photo%202_zps65n4bk0k.jpg)

(http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n167/b2nomad/photo%203_zpsr4i3sdx7.jpg)

(http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n167/b2nomad/photo%204_zpshpg4zcex.jpg)

Offline Brett Wolfe

• Global Moderator